I Heart Origami

Origami 折り紙 from oru meaning “folding”, and kami meaning “paper”

Last year my friend Clair moved into the flat for a while and she rekindled my love for origami. I sat making loads of flowers getting frustrated when it didn’t go my way, whilst Clair sat with a YouTube video of a step by step guide to make  far more complicated models like shells and pelicans, I know she too felt her own frustration at times. After making a ridiculous amount of flowers she showed me how to make bunnies and last night at my jewellery class I made a copper bunny which will be turned into a broach at some point soon.

copper-bunny

Although its not a folded origami bunny I am looking to get copper and silver sheet to fold into actual origami figures.

chanel-carosel

Origami inspired forms and paper craft seems to be everywhere at the moment or maybe I’m just more aware of it. Last year chanel’s autum/ winter 2008 collection was presented on a massive carousel which was so playful and magical, I didnt think it could get any better than that. However, along came the 2009 spring/ summer collection….

chanel-haute-couture-ss09_01

chanel2chanel runway

In total 7000 hand made paper flowers were made to drape over the banisters, hung on pillars and table arrangements. It took 4800 hours of work to assemble these spectacular sculptures and 4000m2 of paper was needed…..Thats dedication! I would love to be part of their creative team, even making the structures would be a amazing, maybe only until maybe the 20th flower though! ohh my poor origami flowers look so pitiful now.

Here are a few other origami inspired things I have found about the net…

origami-inspired-foldable-bamboo-houses-by-ming-tang-1

After last years earthquake in China that killed 69,000 people the Chinese government said they would build 1.5 million temporary housing. Ming Tang designed these shelters that are cheap, environment friendly and easy to produce. These beautiful geometric shelters would be made from recycled paper with bamboo frames so could be used in many different situations and assembled in a variety of different ways. I would love to have one, what a stylish wendy house!!

sputnik_1

Table by Dutch designer Sander Mulder

yasuhiro-yamashita-1paper_moomins

Yasuhiro Yamashita was the architect behind this angular structure. I want to imagine that moomins of the 21st century live in this house!!

So there you go, a few examples of how Origami has influenced designers around the world and why its such a work of art.

Thankyou Clair.xx

Lady Lixa

One comment

Leave a Reply

